PS4 update WARNING: PlayStation owners reporting huge software error
We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info
A myriad of issues are being flagged tonight following the launch of Sony’s latest PS4 update.
Patch 9.00 is available to download, but those who have completed the sequence warn of some major issues afterwards.
The update weighs in at less than a GB but reportedly includes some major issues that can cause consoles to become unusable.
The first warning sign is that your PS4 console runs much more slowly after the new patch has installed.
And this can be followed by broader issues, with some PS4 owners unable to access the PlayStation Store or switch menus without rebooting their gaming device.
PlayStation owners have been discussing the issues online, with one user reporting:
“WARNING! This update just bricked my console? Immediately after restarting after the update, I get the PlayStation logo, and then the blue light on the console pulses for about a minute before the console shuts down.
“Tried doing the 30 seconds unplug followed by rebuilding database, but it does the same thing.”
This post was followed up with an update that included the news that the affected user was able to boot the console after re-downloading and installing the update in Safe Mode.
But they also warned that they had cloud saved all their game saves just in case there were problems later on.
Another affected PS4 owner posted this issue on Reddit: “My PS4 downloads the update but can’t install it. Once the system restarts, an error code occurs before the system finishes the installation process. Because I can’t update, I can’t log into PSN.”
PS5: Sony unveil pricing for PlayStation 5 console
Another adds: “Mine hasn’t been as bad as others, but it’s still taking me half an hour to watch a 15 minute YouTube video despite my Internet being perfectly fine.”
It should be noted that there are plenty of users who have reported no issues with installing the latest update and have seen no slow down in console performance.
The PlayStation Support team on Twitter haven’t shared any announcement on what might be causing today’s problems, or how long they might last.
After one user pointed out problems with installing the update, Ask PlayStation shared this advice:
“Thanks. Please reinstall the system software. This step will delete all the content in your console. To download the reinstallation file and initialize the console.”
And these are the official patch notes for what the new PS4 update is supposed to do:
Main features in the system software update:
- You can now view trophies for PS5 games on PS4 consoles.
- In Trophies, you can now view PS5 trophies in your trophy list. You can also view PS5 trophies in the trophy list on the profile screen under the [Games] tab.
- In Messages, we’ve updated the following:
- If you’re the owner of a group, you can now delete it. To delete a group, open the options menu, and then select [Delete Group]. If you delete a group, it will be deleted for all members. Now when you block someone, you can choose to also leave the group that only you and they are in at the same time. You won’t leave groups that include other players.
Other updated features:
- On an Android or iOS/iPadOS device, you can now use the PS Remote Play app to access your PS4 via mobile data. We’ve made the following improvements to parental controls:
- Now when a child requests to use communication features for a game, their parent or guardian will receive a notification on the PS4 and PlayStation App. The child will also receive a notification when their parent or guardian accepts, denies, or stops allowing the child to use communication features for a game.
- You can now select whether you’d like to receive notifications on your PS4 or through email about new products and special offers. To do so, go to [Settings] > [Account Management] > [Account Information] > [Communication Preferences].
Source: Read Full Article